Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michelelc_gw

Ellie Topp's Caponata, quick advice needed!

michelelc
13 years ago

I just made a batch of Caponata from "Small Batch Preserving". This is my first year canning and I'm confused. The directions say to spoon the Caponata into jars but since it's a relish type of consistency without a lot of liquid, there are a lot of air pockets. From everything I've read on canning, I thought there weren't supposed to be air pockets and no where does it say to remove air pockets. Even if I was to smoosh down the caponata, I don't think I could remove all air pockets. Is this OK?

Comments (16)

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

I have never made it but based on some earlier discussions about it here I don't think it is supposed to be so dry/thick that you can't remove all the air bubbles. Perhaps your tomatoes were a bit drier than most. Sounds like you need to increase the wine vinegar liquid a bit.

since it's a relish type of consistency without a lot of liquid, there are a lot of air pockets.

Most approved relishes are not so thick that air pockets remain. Relish-type foods need to be just a bit soupy to safely process. You can if you wish then drain off some of the excess liquid after opening the jar.

Air bubbles/pockets in most foods is a valid indication that it is too thick and needs to be thinned down a bit.

Dave

• michelelc
    Original Author
    13 years ago