Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenswrens

Must I use jalapenos in salsa?

jenswrens
12 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm new to the Harvest Forum (but not to GardenWeb - I usually hang out in Kitchens or other home forums).

Also not new to canning, although I've taken a decade-long hiatus from it. Now I'm trying to get back into it again, based on a new commitment to eating only "real foods."

I want to make salsa, and I've found lots of approved recipes, but 99% of them call for some amount of jalapenos. I only like mild salsa. I really do not like anything hot at all (really - not even in the slightest). I've never liked jalapenos and I admit I'm even afraid of them. Probably from some repressed childhood memory. (My mother used to eat them whole just like normal people would eat an apple. Ick.)

I know you can substitute bells for "long green chiles," but those darn jalapenos are always listed separately on their own line. MUST I use them? Or can I substitute a milder chile for the jalapenos?

The only recipe I've found that does not call for jalapenos is this one from the NCHFP. I made the recipe yesterday. And while it is yummy, I'd like to branch out a little. But preferably a branch without jalapenos! Thanks!

Comments (4)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

No you do not need to use jalapenos - or any hot pepper for that matter. You can leave out all peppers or you can sub sweet peppers for hot peppers or others varieties of hot peppers for the jalapenos. You just need to keep the amounts the same.

But if you leave out the peppers or reduce the amounts you still can NOT increase the amounts of any other ingredients. They must remain the same.

I've found lots of approved recipes

This comment set off an alarm in my head since there are NOT "lots of approved recipes for salsas". They are quite limited in number in fact and only limited research has been done on salsa canning safety.