Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blueridgemtngrl

Apple butter not dark enough

blueridgemtngrl
16 years ago

This is my first time making apple butter. It tastes great and is thick but it isn't as dark as what I'm used to seeing. It is more of a golden brown than dark.

What am I doing wrong?

Also, what are cinnamon berries? I ran across an apple butter recipe that called for them.

Thanks for your help!

Jeanne

Comments (8)

• mellyofthesouth
    16 years ago

Did you use any kind of fruit fresh or lemon juice? I used some fruit fresh last year because the buggy apples I was using took so long to peel. It ended up tasting like apple butter, but looking like applesauce. Also, could it be that the variety of apples doesn't brown as much? I have noticed that some seem to brown much faster.

• jcsgreenthumb
    16 years ago

Hi,

No, the recipe I used just has apples, sugar and spices. I did reduce the sugar as my husband is diabetic and it seemed like a lot of sugar anyway.

Here is the recipe. I didn't add anything else (like lemon juice).

2 quarts apple pulp (I made this myself)
    4 cups sugar
    2 t ground cinnamon
    1/4 t ground cloves

I am not sure the color matters all that much if it is the right consistency and tastes good, but just curious why others turn out so brown.

Thanks!

Jeanne

• readinglady
    16 years ago

If you reduced the sugar then there's less sugar to caramelize during the long cooking and so less browning. It may also be with the reduced sugar that what you have is closer to a spiced applesauce than an apple butter. Either way, if you enjoy the flavor and it's the consistency you prefer, it's fine. Color is not an issue.

Also, as mentioned, if you used any kind of acid or Fruit Fresh in preparation, that will help maintain a lighter color.

However, if you reduced the sugar quite a lot, then I'd process as for applesauce, not apple butter.