Return to the Harvest Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pickles too vinegary- help!

Posted by gardenbug_girl 9a (My Page) on
Wed, Oct 17, 07 at 15:30

This past spring I made some Kosher Dill pickle spears in quart jars with fresh dill and garlic from the "So Easy to Preserve" book from University of Georgia. They sat looking all pretty through the summer and I finally cracked open a jar (my Bread n' Butter ran out) but they were soooo vinegary and strong! What did I do wrong? It was so bad I had to let the jar "air" for a day or so in my fridge before I could stomach another one. Can I add some sugar to the recipe before I try it again to make it more palatable or would that make it unsafe to can since it throws off proportions (thats the math geek in me)? I know diluting the vinegar is a "No,No" in canning... Any ideas? I'm new to this whole pickle thing.

PS- I've been reading all your posts (Linda, Annie, Dave, etc) for the last year and have learned so much from everyone in this forum. Thanks so much ya'll! Glad to have finally joined!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pickles too vinegary- help!

My Clausen type Dills were too salty. Here's what you can do. After you empty a jar of another sweet pickle, save the juice and put your dills in it. In a few days they will be delicious. I put my salty dills into my Sweet Dill Juice.
I wouldn't use the same juice over more than 2 times though.

o

DILL PICKLES
(about 7-9 pint jars)
8 pounds of 3- to 5-inch pickling cucumbers
2 gallons water
1 1⁄4 cups canning salt (divided)
1 1⁄2 quarts vinegar
1⁄4 cup sugar
2 quarts water
2 tablespoons whole mixed pickling spice
about 3 tablespoons whole mustard seed
about 14 heads of fresh dill or 5 tablespoons dill seed
Wash cucumbers. Cut 1/16-inch slice off blossom end and discard. Leave 1⁄4-inch of stem attached. Dissolve 3⁄4 cup salt in 2 gallons water. Pour over cucumbers and let stand 12 hours. Drain.