Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cindylouwho_gw

mirro canner question

CindyLouWho
16 years ago

just bought a 22qt mirro pressure canner. tried to run the "test" to see the control jiggle. Steam was coming out of the vent like crazy (and through the control), but NO jiggling. This is my first attempt at using a pressure canner and I'm a bit scared of blowing-up! :-)

I wasn't actually canning food, just seeing how the canner works. So, did I not wait it out long enough? Is steam coming out the same as jiggling (there was so much steam, I expected it to whistle!)

TIA

Rachel

Comments (13)

• readinglady
    16 years ago

Well, isn't this sweet? It appears the Mirro people never bothered to update their manual. I love it when companies do that. That weight isn't supposed to jiggle, just hiss.

Also, once it's at pressure you can moderate the heat and it can hiss intermittently. Someone on rec.food.preserving was talking about the weight sticking if the temperature is too high.

Here's from the Wearever FAQ on the subject.

Why doesn't the pressure control on my cooker/canner "jiggle" as indicated in the Instruction Manual?

With the older models the pressure control did "jiggle" when the cooker/canner came up to pressure. With the newer models, the pressure control will make a "hissing" sound and emit a great deal of steam when it comes up to pressure.

P.S. It's not going to blow up. The pressure plug would release first.

Carol

Here is a link that might be useful: Wearever FAQ

• ksrogers
    16 years ago