Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skeip

Kraut is ready, now what?

skeip
12 years ago

Followed all the good advice I got here and at the NCHFP, and I now have a gallon of delicious Kraut. I went thru a lot of the old threads on Kraut, but couldn't get a definitive answer. Do I jar and BWB like the NCHFP says? One poster mentioned freezing it, but left no specifics. Are there other options? If the texture of the BWB product is like store boughten that would be fine, but I don't want it to be real soft., We don't eat it often, so I'd like to be able to preserve it for a while.

Since this is my first time, I'd appreciate any help and advice. TYIA.

Steve

Comments (7)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Do I jar and BWB like the NCHFP says?

That's what I do. Having canned kraut for use throughout the winter is my goal when making it.

Some just keep the fermenting jar in the fridge and eat from it as needed. That doesn't appeal to me for several reasons.

Never tried freezing it but given the effects of freezing on cabbage I'd think it would be mushy when thawed.

Dave

• bejay9_10
    12 years ago

This question came up at our house also - mainly because I became so enthusiastic about my new found recipe, that I made more than could be consumed easily - because only two people in the family care for it that much.

Soooo - I decided to do a BWB on a few, freeze some and refrigerate some - just to see what the finished product would be.

Actually, in summary - if you only want to eat it in casseroles - the softness isn't as much a factor, as it will soften when cooked anyway.

As it is my understanding - small batch fermenting of kraut is now questioned (I still do it - because my cabbage yields are small and so far, I've not experienced any failure as a result of doing it that way).