Return to the Harvest Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Should I harvest sweet peppers now?

Posted by lmvanc SW Wash (Clark Cty) (My Page) on
Sat, Oct 16, 10 at 17:29

To my SW Washington neighbors ... when should I harvest sweet red peppers that haven't fully ripened? Do I pick now and hope they ripen indoors, or leave them on the plants (under the garden fabric) for a while longer?

This is my first year growing peppers. Now that it's Oct 16 with night-time temps dangerously close to freezing, I'm at a loss on what to do with them. I've got two sweet red pepper varieties (Red Mercury and Marconi Rosso) planted in earth boxes - 6 plants of each. Plants are quite tall and robust, loaded with peppers that have just started showing the faintest hint of red. I've covered them with a light-weight garden fabric as a frost precaution, but I'm at a loss on harvesting at this point.

I read through some other postings, but don't have a barn or garage for pulling and suspending the plants. My options are leaving them on the plant, or picking and piling in a large colander or bowl for ripening.

NOTE: If it matters, my intent for the peppers is to roast on a charcoal grill, peel/seed them, then freeze individually for adding to sauces throughout the winter. I may also try BBB's sweet pepper spread.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Should I harvest sweet peppers now?

Well you certainly don't want them to get hit with a frost. That will ruin them. So you may not have a choice except to pick them or plan on using really great protection coverage nightly.

Since the peppers are certainly great eating at any stage - many on the Vegetable Gardening forum talk about how it is difficult and slow getting peppers to the red stage even under ideal conditions - so I wouldn't want to take the risk of losing them so I would pick them if they were mine.

Whether they will ripen further after picking all depends on the variety - many won't.

Dave