Return to the Harvest Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Apple Slices

Posted by janisj (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 11, 10 at 17:46

Hi all. This is my first attempt at apple slices, and I'm having some issues. Per the instructions, I boiled in light syrup for 5 minutes. Final product? Lots of foam and apple slices that are very mushy and falling apart.

A couple days ago I made apple pie filling, and it actually turned out great with the 1 minute blanch.

Are my apples suited for apple slices or should I just make a batch of apple sauce? Can I cook for less than five minutes, or could I cook in apple juice or water and add the simple syrup to the jars (instead of getting all of that foam in my jars)?

Thanks so much for your thoughts. Of course, my second batch of apples is almost ready to go into the canner. It is nice to have the kiddos help, but they may be too productive in this circumstance, as I would love a minute to think about what I should do :)

http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_02/apple_sliced.html

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Apple Slices

A lot could be the variety of apple you are using. I've done MacIntosh, Pink Lady and Granny Smith - which all pretty much turned to mush in the jar. Fuji's have held up wonderfully as sliced apples.

The point of the 5 minute boil is to get the air out of the apples. Otherwise the air comes out of the apples in the canner, and you end up with floating jars - which are then not safe to eat.

o

Agreed; to can slices, you want some more sturdy apples. Spartans hold up well.

With the others, make sauce or butter.

Z

o

Thanks so much for the insight! I'm not sure about the variety of apple, but they must not be well suited for being canned in slices. They are very mushy!