Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michelelc_gw

fermented dilly beans with white film?

michelelc
11 years ago

I started a half gallon jar of fermented dilly beans Sat., Sept. 23. I used the recipe from the Joy of Pickling, which said to ferment for 2 weeks. Tonight, I checked on them, and they were no longer bubbling and I noticed a little bit of mold on the top. So, I opened them up and skimmed off the mold (I had used a zip loc bag to keep them submerged). The beans seem to have a white film on them? All the beans were submerged, so I don't think it would be mold?? I'm new to fermenting, is this from the salt? I used the sea salt that came with the Perfect Pickler jar top I bought. I tried a few and they didn't taste moldy. Is this white film normal?

Comments (9)

• olga_6b
    11 years ago

Michele, the good old trick when you see this, is to add a little mustard powder or/and turmeric. For half gallon I would add about half tea spoon,just sprinkle on the surface. It will take care of film quite fast (1-2 days) and should not change taste of your ferment. This is an old trick and it works like a charm. Turmeric will give your ferment a little golden shade.
    I usually add them preventively several days after active fermentation starts. If you add them from the begining, it will slow fermentation, so it is important to wait few days before adding them. You don't really need both, whatever you have will work, but I usually add mustard and turmeric.
    Olga

• cannond
    11 years ago

Olga, this is terrific information. Will it work on kalm yeast for dill pickles too?

Deborah

• olga_6b
    11 years ago