Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fovlet

canning question

fovlet
14 years ago

I hope this is the right place to ask this...

Yesterday I harvested the green grape tomatoes off of my dying tomato plants and made pickles. I have never done this before and was following canning directions I found online. I used new mason jars (pint size) and boiled them for 15 minutes after sealing. However, I misread the directions and did not heat the lids up before putting them on. (The directions said to heat the lids and not the bands, but I got mixed up and heated the bands and not the lids.)

From what I can tell, the lids have sealed properly, but I'm wondering if the fact that I didn't heat them up first will lead to problems?

If not sterilizing the lids first is bad, then would putting the jars in the fridge help at this point? Or should I throw them away? Hate to do that, but I'd also hate to get food poisoning...

Thanks!

Comments (12)

• readinglady
    14 years ago

It always helps to know the specific recipe you're using and the source.

But speaking generally, green tomatoes are acid and the pickling solution is acid, so nobody's going to get food poisoning. What could happen with shelf-storage is a reduced longevity and possible spoilage. Assuming it's a standard recipe with at least 50-50 vinegar in the pickling solution, even that isn't likely.

Even though the lids weren't heated, the water bath would have been sufficient to form a seal, but it's a weaker one, which means air could get in leading to softening/loss of quality or lids come unsealed with time (especially if there are fluctuations of temperature in the storage area).

It's your call. You could leave the jars on the shelf, you could refrigerate (though frankly in this case I don't think it's necessary), or you could re-process with fresh lids and feel comfortable. If you re-process, remember you start from scratch, emptying and cleaning jars, re-heating pickling solution, etc. etc.