Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
denisepa11

Book Version

DenisePA11
10 years ago

Good Morning!

I am new to canning--okay, really new to canning, as I just started this summer. I have seen a large number of references to The Complete Book of Small-Batch Preserving. I can't seem to find a version that is newer than 2007. Can anyone tell me if it is okay to use that version even though it seems newer recommendations came out in 2009? I don't want to start learning bad habits.

Thanks so much!

Comments (25)

• readinglady
    10 years ago

That edition is fine. The 2009 changes were mainly "tweaks" and don't reduce the overall safety of the recipes in Topp's book.

However, that is not the book I would recommend for a beginning canner (really, really beginning). For a big book of canning recipes I would recommend the Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving or the traditional smaller Ball Blue Book.

Your core source should be the NCHFP (National Center for Home Food Preservation) linked below. Take the free self-paced online course they offer. It can be immensely helpful.

Carol

Here is a link that might be useful: NCHFP

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Agree 100% with what Carol said. That is a good book but not usually considered one for beginners. What peeked your interest in that particular book vs. some of the introductory books?

Dave

Some links to explore:

NCHFP

The Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving

Ball Blue Book

• myfamilysfarm
    10 years ago

For beginners, I recommend they buy or borrow the Ball Blue Book, it's great for those just starting out, and not very expensive.

• DenisePA11
    Original Author
    10 years ago