Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redfisher8

Canning

Redfisher8
10 years ago

So I am new to this forum and figured from viewing some of the post I have read that this forum is filled with great information. I am new to canning and as I have read there are a ton of ways to go about this process. I have also noticed after searching the web that like any hobby some information is great and some is inaccurate.

I am currently in the process of possibly purchasing a pressure cooker. My question is even if I choose to pressure cook can I still refrigerate instead of storing somewhere else? Thanks.

Comments (22)

• readinglady
    10 years ago

I am not entirely clear on your meaning.

Do you mean if you pressure can something, can you put the sealed jar(s) in the refrigerator? It's not necessary, but you certainly could.

Secondly, I'm not sure if you're aware that a pressure canner is not the same as a pressure cooker. There are many pressure cookers unsuitable for canning. What brand/model were you planning to buy?

Carol

• Redfisher8
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Sorry if it was a little confusing. I have noticed the same about cooker/canner and decided I may try to get between a 16-23 qt. I have a couple of brands but not set on one just yet. Is there one you recommend? I have looked at Presto. Also would you recommend the stainless over aluminum? Thanks.

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Welcome to the forum!

All of the recommended pressure canners are made of aluminum. Fact as far as I know all brands, recommended or not, are aluminum. Presto and All American are the two most commonly recommended brands on this forum and Presto is the one used in all the USDA lab testing. The advantage to the Preston 23 quart is that it can also be used as a BWB as well as a pressure canner.

if I choose to pressure cook can I still refrigerate instead of storing somewhere else? Thanks.