Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bellamart

Reuse Canning Lids?

bellamart
16 years ago

First let me say I adore this site!! This is the only site I know where I can ask questions and get answered within such a short time!!

Ok, my question is: I am fairly new to canning. It always scared me cuz of food poisonings, but I gave it a shot last fall with good results. (giving myself a pat on the back!) I was under the impression that you can reuse the lids and bands as long as they are not warped, dented or rusted however, a different site I was in said to only use lids once and then throw them away and buy more.

Has anyone ever reused their lids before with or without any problems? I guess I am worried again about food poisoning, but if I can prevent having to run out to the store to hunt down lids.....

Comments (85)

• Caitlin
    8 years ago

You can use the lids in other ways...for example, with a foodsaver as those don't create a seal. I save my old lids for purposes like this so they don't go to waste after 1 use.

• thatcompostguy
    8 years ago

they do create a seal with a foodsaver. that's the point of using one. but it's not a hot seal, so no melting or further deforming is usually involved. used lids work well with a foodsaver.

• eckhoffdonna
    8 years ago

We were doing some canning and have some extra lids in the hot water can the be used since they were not put on any jars next time we are canning

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

They are okay to use next time if they were just in the hot water.

• digdirt2
    8 years ago

<We were doing some canning and have some extra lids in the hot water can the be used since they were not put on any jars next time we are canning>

Exact same question was just posted and answered right above your post. :)

Dave

• gardnpondr
    8 years ago