Return to the Harvest Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Reuse Canning Lids?

Posted by bellamart (My Page) on
Sun, Nov 11, 07 at 20:25

First let me say I adore this site!! This is the only site I know where I can ask questions and get answered within such a short time!!
Ok, my question is: I am fairly new to canning. It always scared me cuz of food poisonings, but I gave it a shot last fall with good results. (giving myself a pat on the back!) I was under the impression that you can reuse the lids and bands as long as they are not warped, dented or rusted however, a different site I was in said to only use lids once and then throw them away and buy more.
Has anyone ever reused their lids before with or without any problems? I guess I am worried again about food poisoning, but if I can prevent having to run out to the store to hunt down lids.....

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Reuse Canning Lids?

I have always read to get new lids since the old ones might not stick all the way around. Seems kind of dangerous to reuse a lid.

You can sometimes buy them on sale at the end of the season at a good discount.

If you look closely the rubber on the lid is dented in when used and smooth and flat when new.

Good luck

You can reuse lids for non food storage use. like if you want to fill a jar with old screws and need a lid. Or for non critical use like saving seeds in the jars etc.

o

No, don't re-use lids. At the very least there's a likelihood of a weaker or compromised seal. Lids are cheap compared to the waste of seal failure.

But you can re-use rings as long as they're rust-free and not dented, so just buy the cheaper boxes of flats.

Carol

o

Dear Bellamart,