Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elbourne_gw

Pepper Jelly Making - FAIL

Elbourne
12 years ago

I am a jelly novice. I attempted to make pepper jelly yesterday with Bhut Jolokia peppers I grew this year. The jelly tastes great, the consistency is just a little wierd. Its more of a thick sticky paste instead of a jelly. What did I do wrong?

I brought 1 cup Apple Cider Vinegar to a boil and threw in 7 chopped peppers. I then dumped 1 package of Sure-jell in and stirred for 1 minute. I then added 5 cups of sugar and stirred until the sugar melted. I poured the syrup into my sterilized jars and processed them in a water bath for 10 minutes.

Comments (12)

• highalttransplant
    12 years ago

Here are some questions that may help us determine what went wrong.

1) Some jellies can take a while to gel. How long ago did you make it?

2) When you dumped the Sure-jell in, did you bring it back to a full rolling boil before you started timing the 1 minute?

3) Basically same as #2, did you bring it back to a rolling boil for a full minute after adding the sugar?

• macybaby
    12 years ago

Here is how I did mine

Mix everything but the sugar, bring to a full boil (can't be stirred down). dump in sugar and bring back to full boil, and boil for 1 minute.

Then take off burner and jar up.

I have found Peper Jelly usually takse a week or two to set, not always but more often than not, especially when the powdered pectin instead of the liquid pectin.

I've not seen a recipe that did not call for boiling after adding the pectin, and again after adding the sugar. Is that something particular with that type of pectin?

Freezer jam is sort of made the way you describe - and that does say you need to wait several weeks for it to set. Put it on the shelf and see what it's like two weeks from now, and let us know.

• highalttransplant
    12 years ago