Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gator_9a

Pressure Canning Hot Sauces

gator_9a
11 years ago

I'm new to gardening, and, as a result, new to needing to preserve. My husband and I have been making hot sauce and keeping it in the fridge, but, we are still (in December!) harvesting about 60 habaneros a week, so we wanted to try canning it.

I was reluctant to post, given the firm admonishments I've seen, but here goes:

We found two hot sauce recipes we liked, and while people on websites said that they canned them for years using waterbath canning, we weren't confident they were acidic enough (one has 1 to 1.5 water to acid ratio, the other has all vinegar with no water added, but it also contains brown sugar, molasses and peaches in heavy syrup). We are aware of the importance of using an official recipe for waterbath canning. So, we pressure canned them (in 4 oz & 8 oz jars) for the longest pressure canning time recommended for any of the contained ingredients (the peppers and carrots: 35 mins at 10 lbs).

But, I'm still afraid of them.

It seems that if pressure canning carrots or peppers in water would be acceptable at that time/pressure, then it should acceptable to can them in a more acidic fluid at the same time/pressure. Is that wrong?

Comments (8)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

It seems that if pressure canning carrots or peppers in water would be acceptable at that time/pressure, then it should acceptable to can them in a more acidic fluid at the same time/pressure. Is that wrong?

As a general guide, yes that would be true IF the scidity level was high enough. A 1:1 ratio of vinegar to water is the minimum recommended for untested recipes so I'd skip the the one with more water in it.

There are exceptions to your statement however that depend on the density of the food.

If you can post the recipes or link to them we can take a look at them and better know for sure.

Dave

• gator_9a
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks, Dave! That's very helpful.