Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cjzimmer1

New to pressure Canning - help me troubleshoot

cjzimmer
12 years ago

I've water bath canned for a few years but wanted to expand into pressure canning. I have an induction stove so I use this canner

http://www.amazon.com/Fagor-Piece-Pressure-Canning-Set/dp/B0027VT92K/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1318957679&sr=8-1-spell

It only does 4 quarts at a time but that is fine for me since I'm still learning.

So for my first attempt I tried to can chicken. Since both raw and hot pack process for the same time, I decided to try both so I could see which way I prefer. I cooked my chicken for 2 jars (although it got more cooked than I planned and was probably 90% cooked when I put it into the jars). Filled to just under 1 inch from top and covered with broth (hot water with dissolved boullion cubes).

Raw pack, cut up my chunks and put them in the jar. I didn't have enough chicken at this point so one jar was probably had almost 1 1/2 inches headspace, the other was about 1 3/4 inch. The NAHCP (can't remember if those are the exact initials but it's the site everyone links to here) says to add no broth, my ball canning books says to add broth. Various other sites (not official sites) talk about adding some broth. Since I'm practicing (and really just wanted to see which method I prefer the texture of) I filled both jars about half full with broth (same as above).

Put the jars in canner, vent steam for 10 minutes, apply pressure (canner only does low = 8 pounds and high=15 pounds), used high pressure (my altitude is just under 1000 feet). Once pressure reached set timer for 90 minutes.

When I have water bathed on my induction stove, I have to keep turning the temp down because it boils the water so hard.