Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hardrockkid

Since it hasn't appeared yet: Share your favorite!

hardrockkid
19 years ago

Let's hear it! What's your fave??

As I mentioned in another post, I'm new to H&Hs (and it's interesting that many others here seem to be as well) -- I haven't even seen mine through 1 full year yet, so naming my "favorite" now is probably a bit crazy. But, at this point, I have to say that "Celebration" E. cinerea is knocking me out! That bright golden foliage is incredible, and it's just now starting with it's white flowers.

It's a surprise to me that I'm liking this the best, because I am a big purple guy.

Not sure this photo really does justice. If/when I finally get a digi camera, I'll try posting mine.

Here is a link that might be useful: 'Celebration' E.cinerea at H&H

Comments (8)

• cranebill
    19 years ago

I've been watching your post for a while, and since no one else has responded yet, guess I'll just try and help get it going. I have only a small collection so far, so I hesitated to post a response. But even from among the nine varieties I've got it's hard to pick a favorite. I decided to grow heaths and heathers primarily for the foliage. I was thinking I might simulate some of the colors of the expanses of blueberry bogs we have in Pennsylvania. Blueberries are not ericaceous, I know, but there are native heaths and heathers that grow in masses along with the blueberries in these bogs and produce spectacular fields of color, especially in fall. I have also visited the Southern Cape Penninsula in South Africa several times to admire the heaths native to that area. Again, the colors of these plants - glowing and subtle at the same time - are part of what got me interested in heaths. The way that heath and heather foliage catches and reflects light at different times of day and in different seasons is amazing to me. Sorry to have gone off topic.