Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kalucapike

Is it a bad idea to plant now?

kalucapike
19 years ago

I am fairly new to gardening and someone mentioned in another post that it is terrible idea to plant in the summer. Is that always the case? I have recently fallen in love with heaths and heathers and would love to plant a whole huge row of different varieties along my walkway. I was thinking of starting now so things would be somewhat established before their first winter. Should I hold off? Any tips, advice, or info is much appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (4)

• catchef
    19 years ago

If you want to plant your heaths and heathers now you can, but they will need to be watered often! Heaths and heathers have extremely fine roots, and if they dry out in the least, they will die. In my experience, the smaller size plants(3-4" pots) are more easily established than the bigger gallon size pots. They will catch up to the larger plants very quickly. Before you plant, make sure you ammend your soil, they love acid, so if you have a wooded area around you, you can even dig up some leaf mold and mix it into each planting hole. After planting you can give them a drink of fish emulsion, make sure you dilute it according to the directions on the bottle, and I even add a bit more water to make it a bit weaker. You live in CT, so you have cold windy weather. Bad news for heaths and heathers! You must protect them from the drying winds.I use pine boughs over the top of my bed, and add extra mulch around the crowns, and sometimes even throw some leaves under there. You should take this into consideration before you choose your varieties. Heaths generally bloom in the colder months(Nov-April), so you may not want to plant too many of these, since they will be covered at those times. To tell the difference between heaths and heathers, heaths have needles, heathers do not. Good Luck, here's a link to a great source, excellent plants and selection, shippings not bad either.