Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
syntria

Are Heirloom always Open-Pollinated?

syntria
10 years ago

Hello!

I've been growing veggies for about ten years, and I finally am buying a house with a real backyard so I plan to start up at least 4 raised beds.

I really have had the desire to grow from seed as well as to save-seeds and I'm looking at some heirloom varity packs avaliable on various sites and I was wondering how will I know if the seeds are viable? Are some heirlooms hybrid plants or are they not? I'd really love to get a few seeds from someone--I want something meaningful in my garden. The seeds of someone's grandfather or family, and knowing how important it would be for me to save the seeds from that plant at the end of the season. I want to join a bit of history.

Thanks for any answers to my questions and any other information you guys can provide. :)

Before now I've mainly used hybrids, bought starter plants, though I did grow some cucumbers, cantaloupes, and tomatoes from seed last season. I'd like to grow my entire garden from seed this year.

Comments (5)

• farmerdill
    10 years ago

By definition, "heirlooms" are open pollinated. Probably the only definition of "heirlooms" that is not contested. A lot of the offerings on the market are recent developments, so read the threads on the tomato forum and look at reputable "heirloom" vendors if you want family "heirlooms".

• ZachS. z5 Platteville, Colorado
    10 years ago

An heirloom is always open pollinated, but not every open pollinated cultivar is an heirloom. Be careful of marketing ploys used by companies labeling anything and everything they can an "heirloom" and also watch out for some seeds that are not described as a heritage variety but actually are.

I think you will be pleased with seed that you purchase from any reputable seed company. I've planted many heirlooms over the years from various sources and haven't been disappointed.