Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
birdiewi_gw

cucumber question

birdiewi
15 years ago

I grew Japanese Climbing Cucumbers from SSE last year. I saved some seeds and planned on growing them again this year. But I am also thinking about pickling a few which I have never done.

So, should I also grow another type for pickling, or find one type that is okay both for salads and pickling? I am assuming that the Japanese Climbing isn't good for pickling. I had wanted to save seeds again this coming year, but wouldn't be able to if I grow 2 different types, right?

Any suggestions? I am in Wisconsin.

Comments (3)

• tomakers
    15 years ago

IME almost any cucumber is OK for pickling. It depends on what type pickles. I am no pickling expert, but I know my wife uses this type for sliced bread and butter pickles(at least I think that's the name).
    JMO,
    Tom

• deanriowa
    15 years ago

What kind of pickling do you plan to do?

I grow Poona Kheera last year and it has a permanent place from now on in my garden. It is a dual purpose cucumber, I made pickle relish with them and it turned out very good. The Poona Kheera did very well in my 4b/5a zone and has some disease resistance. I loved the flavor as it was never bitter. Note the color turns some people off, but it stopped people in the alley from stealing them.

Dean

• knittlin
    15 years ago