Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lmhall2000

Complete newbie, only want to plant green beans in North Alabama.

lmhall2000
13 years ago

I'm finally at a point in my life (all kids are over age 10!!) where I can find time to go back to basics. My grandparents always had a big garden in Spruce Pine, AL (about the same zone as me...clay soil)..she had the BEST canned green beans ever! She's 87 now and can't remember names...she said I liked the half runner beans as a kid and to just find a bean that is as long as your finger and slender..that doesn't give me a lot to go on!

I have a large tractor tire that is a raised bed (always used for tulips/gladiolas in the past..so I want to put the beans in that...my neighbor has all the garden implements and if I can manage, he would till up a garden for me next year. We have 8 acres and just bought 2 from him that he had a garden on for 35 years (1 acre garden)..I had planned to use it for a horse dressage arena..but after 30 years, that soil may be just what I need..if I can cordon it off from my horses I might reuse part of that acre for a small 20x40 garden next year.

Do I just go to my local feed/seed and pick out a bean? For a 6 foot tractor tire.. (5 foot radius inside) how many beans should I plant? create a tepee with bamboo/string to help them climb? I'm just clueless.

I think I'll go out with a shovel to last year's garden soil my neighbor had and just add about 2 inches of that soil to my tire soil..should I dig out my tulips and glads?

So confused..but willing to make this step..we homeschool and it's time to teach the kids about eating food we grow!

Thanks!

Tara

Comments (5)

• fusion_power
    13 years ago

If you are going to teach the kids about eating what you grow, you need a lot more than a tractor tire for a garden.

Half-runner beans are still available. See the link below.

DarJones

Here is a link that might be useful: SMAC

• farmerdill
    13 years ago