Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
coupsn

Help with dad's plants!! Tons of questions and lots of help!

CoupsN
13 years ago

Hello:

My father was possibly a master gardener. While not a professional, he could grow literally anything. He had/has roses and other plants that are close to 50 years old and possibly older!

Well, my dad died in July of 2010 and did not leave any guidance regarding his huge (approx. 1 acre) lot of yard, veggie garden, flowering trees, bushes, roses, hibiscus, cactus, etc., etc.

While I have some garden experience I do not have my Dad's! He had ten green thumbs!

Here are some questions I hope you can help me with:

1. when and how to trim and feed Rose of Sharon bushes

2. It appears all of my Dad's bulbs were left in the ground over the winter and have turned to mush. Will any of these recover? Is there anything I can do with these? These are calla lilies, iris, and some other bulbs I'm not sure what they are yet.

3. Trumpter vines- two huge things! How much can I trim these back?

4. When an how far can I trim a mock orange blossom?

5. Roses- Huge long stem (are these floribunda?) roses. My Dad's roses are enormous multifloral fragrant gorgeous flowers that are heaven to see and smell! How do I trim them and feed them?

This is kind of just below the tip of the "iceberg"; there are poppies, and just tons and tons of flowers and shrubs that he has growing everywhere that will start showing up as things start greening more and more.

I'm sorry for such a long post but I really want to take care of Dad's plants the right way and this forum looks like a great place to start!

Thank you

Cheers and Blessings

CoupsN

Comments (4)

• hostaholic2 z 4, MN
    13 years ago