Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
garnetmoth

Seed Saving and Gardening Books

garnetmoth
19 years ago

(Thanks Garden Lad!)

I did just get the infor for AHSC, but im a student and nearly broke. I am also moving to Nashville, and interested in a regional-ish conservancy. Ill have a job by next gardening season.

Ive learned species rarely cross and thats why I have selected my beans to grow out based on specie. I read somewhere that Brassicas are a bit of an exception to that rule.

I want to grow SO MANY tomatoes. im thinking of a strategy: those i have few seeds for will be 3-plant grow-outs this season. Ill use tulle bags to cover mid-season flower clusters, pollenate with a single use Q-tip, re-tulled until fruits form, then a ribbon to ID the fruit.

I tried to read Deppes "breed your own veggies" but found it entirely too confusing. Maybe I should give it another try. Im pretty decent at science, I just couldnt get in to that book. Ive read Seed Starters Handbook, and im a lot better starting from seed now, but Ive heard Seed to Seed has a lot more pure seed saving type info.

thanks all!

Comments (4)

• Raymondo
    19 years ago

I'd give Deppe's book another try. It's the best intro to this sort of stuff you're likely to find.

• carolyn137
    19 years ago

I'd go for Ashworth's Seed to Seed for general seed saving for a wide range of veggies and Deppe's book if you're more interested in breeding your won veggies, which is the focus of the book.

There's a good new FAQ on seed saving for tomatoes in that Forum and if you need info on seed saving for other veggies, I'd read Ashworth first and if the ansbwer isn't there, then ask in the appropriate Forums b/c not that many folks read this Forum.