Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brenzo77

Need something different for my salsa garden

brenzo77
13 years ago

Hi there folks. I have a small garden and am looking for something a bit different for this summer. I've been doing Roma's and Jalape�o's for a few years now and makeing some great salsa every year. I am thinking of going to a different veriety of tomato and pepper. Just getting a bit bored with the same ole same ole. The reason I've been doing Roma's is that I am not a big fan of "tomato slime" I'm not sure if that's what you call it, but you know what I'm talking about right? So I'm looking for a good flavored tomato and a pepper with just a bit more heat then a Jalape�o. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Comments (4)

• simmran1
    13 years ago

brenzo, on the line of romas I plant Napoli & Rio Grande, both have much less gel than a regular slicing tomato, and I think better taste than Roma. Pepper- I'm thinking you'd like the Mucho Nacho Jalapeno from Jungs seeds or Chichimeca avail from many, including 2B Seeds.

• farmerdill
    13 years ago

If you want to push the envelope a bit, try Tomatillos. For an extra hot jalapeno try Billy Biker or Mitla.

• brenzo77
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the tips. I think I'm going for the Rio Grande tomato. As for the peppers I've decided to add a bit of fire so I'm going for some habenaros. Thanks folks!

• soilent_green
    13 years ago

Wow! Going from jalapenos to habs is quite a step up in the scovilles. I grow habs for making hot sauce, and they indeed have a distinctive flavor. But IMHO when habs are used in salsas their heat overpowers the delicate flavors of all the vegetables rather than complements.