Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maureenpm00

New here, and have a question

maureenpm00
19 years ago

Hi. I am new to gardening and need some help please.

I am growing a few varieties of tomatoes this year, and have a couple of questions.

What exactly is an heirloom tomatoe? And would heirloom varieties be better than the newer tomatoes?

What are the pros of growing heirloom tomatoes, over lets say something like better boy or big boy tomatoes?

Also, any heirloom disease resistant varieties good for a long island ny zone 7 garden?

I'm growing better boy, big boy , roma, and bucks county hybrid.

I would like to add an heirloom variety to what I'm growing this year.

Comments (4)

• grungy
    19 years ago

I'll try to answer questions in order.
    A heirloom tomato - general term for an open pollinated (non hybrid-which means it will breed true to parent) type of tomato that was in production before 1950. Most people find that they like the taste better. Most of the newer tomatoes are bred for commercial growing and shipping, which means the taste is not as important as the ability to ship without spoilage, and yet have a bright red tomato. Taste. Someone else had better answer your disease resistance question. hope this helps and that you have a great garden. Val

• Raymondo
    19 years ago

The word heirloom is bandied about a lot. Most people just take it mean old-time as per grungy's description. They can be true family heirlooms, or just old-time commercial releases like the tomatoes that A.W. Livingston introduced from 1870 onwards. Some people only mean family heirlooms when they use the word.

In terms of growing, there's absolutely no difference between growing a tomato that was developed and released yesterday, and one that's been around for a couple of hundred years.