Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
goatster

Heirloom Squash Winter and Summer

goatster
18 years ago

Folks this is my first year at a vegetable garden and I want to grow the heirlooms. I have a lot of questions, but I want to say that my very first concern is planting things that taste GOOD. I want it to be tender, sweet and just plain tasty. The second thing for me is varieties that are bug proof. Can you suggest squash summer and winter and melons that fit the bill? I appreciate your experinces with these plants.

Comments (8)

• silybum
    18 years ago

I have been finding some amazing squash this year, of all places, at my favorite grocery store, Whole Foods. The varieties I have are Melon Charentais, Squash Summer Zuchetta, Squash Flying Saucer, Squash Summer Bennings Green Scallop, Pumpkin Musque de Provence & Pumpkin Baby Pam. You can find seeds online.

None are bug proof, but plant lots of flowers and herbs that attract beneficial insects. Use Sluggo to take care of snails and slugs.

Here are a few links:

http://www.gourmetgardener.com/

http://www.reneesgarden.com/

http://www.victoryseeds.com/

• gardenlad
    18 years ago

Goatster, there is, alas, no such thing as a bug-proof veggie. They're all subject to invasion by some pests and diseases.

In some cases, heirlooms are more suseptible. But they more than make up for this by their incredible flavor.

What you have to do is first decide whether you're going to control pests chemically or organically. The trade off is that chemical use is easier, but has a lot of downsides in terms of their effects on the land and your own health. Organic controls take more work, but contribute to the land's and your own overall well-being.

Where you are, the primary insect pests will be squash bugs and squash vine borers. The plants will also be suseptible to a disease called powdering mildew.