Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
summitgarden

Heirloom Tomatoes - new tomato gardener

summitgarden
15 years ago

Hello,

I am new to growing heirloom tomatoes this year, having grown mainly herbs in the past, and mainly in containers on the deck. Am trying out the following bought as established plants in 8" pots from a quality local nursery:

Lemon Boy

Black Krim

Old German

Green Zebra

I planted all in the ground by digging up the old soil - which was mainly rocks and weeds - in a sunny south to southwest location; putting flower/vegetable soil mixed with an inch of compost, a tablespoon of osmocote, and a bit of bone and blood meal for each plant. Also placed a small heap of composted manure around the top of each plant, after planting. Spaced about 18 inches apart with marigolds planted 6 inches in front and half way between each tomato plant.

I'm strongly opposed to herbicides/chemicals, but would like to keep pests to a minimum, is a floating cover my best bet? And if the plants are only 18 inches from the wall behind them, do I have enough room for that? My primary pest concerns are rabbits and hornworms (although I hear that I may not have to worry about hornworms until next year's crop since nothing was growing in this space last year... is that true?).

Thanks.

Susan

Comments (4)

• plantermunn
    15 years ago

Susan

I have a lot of rabbits. They have never bothered the tomatoes.

Horn worms don't eat a lot if there are not to many of them.Some folks around here let them be.They turn into a beautiful moth.Hand picking works well enough if you need to kill them.

My worst garden pest is the road runners and turkeys. I have learned to share with them.

Over all tomatoes are tough. They have never been a problem.

One thing you might add is a tea spoon of epsom salt.

We have a tomato forum here at garden web. You should check it out.

• dan_2007
    15 years ago