Return to the Heirloom Plants & Gardens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Heirloom tomatoes cross pollinating?

Posted by keeversgirl 9 (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 18, 09 at 18:58

Ok, so I am relatively new to heirloom tomatoes, but not gardening by far. I'm hoping you all can settle a debate for me. Is it possible for all tomatoes to cross pollinate each other? I know potato leafed, and double bloom beefsteaks can, but in my seed saving book it argues most other tomatoes bloom stolens are so far removed, there is virtually no possibility for them to trade pollen.

Anyone have any experience on this? I thank you in advance for your help. :)

Megan

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Heirloom tomatoes cross pollinating?

"Is it possible for all tomatoes to cross pollinate each other? I know potato leafed, and double bloom beefsteaks can..."

...and currant tomatoes.

Just as with beans (which also self-pollinate effectively), there are those who say they will not cross, and those who say they can. I stand with the second group. While some can grow different varieties side-by-side without crossing, I can personally testify that is not true for everyone. When I began trading tomato seed, I received quite a bit of crossed seed, mostly for large-fruited varieties - so it can & does happen. Never had crosses with paste & smaller varieties received in trade, though. In my own saved seed, using a combination of distance + barrier crops, I have yet to see a cross.

Since some of the larger varieties I received (such as "Goldie") had rates of crossing close to 50%, I recommend at least some distance between larger varieties when saving seed, preferably with other flowering crops between.

IMO, the statement that "tomatoes don't cross" is not a rule, but a myth... one that has been responsible for the distribution of a great deal of polluted seed.

If you want some lively debate (and more information) post this question on the Tomato Forum.

o

Thank you very much! That might be a good idea :)