Return to the Heirloom Plants & Gardens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is it possible to germinate 20 year old pepper seeds?

Posted by wonkasaurusroo Oregon (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 1, 13 at 20:55

I come from a long line of avid gardeners, but am a complete novice myself. This is the first year I've tried a garden. So far it's going well!

I recently found a bag of pepper seeds tucked in the bottom of my great-grandmother's jewelry box. I remember watching her carefully tend her garden when I was a child, and would love it if I could manage to get one of the seeds to grow. There are quite a few, so I could take a few shots at it.

My question is, would it be possible to resurrect these seeds? If so, how would I start? What time of year would be best?

Temperatures here don't range far past 45-85 degrees at the outside between the seasons. I have floor to ceiling windows to the south and west, and a teeny little balcony garden.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is it possible to germinate 20 year old pepper seeds?

You won't know until you try!

o

• Posted by ixel 5a (My Page) on
    Thu, Jul 18, 13 at 14:50

it's definitely possible! I don't know much about the specifics of how to do it, but I've heard more than one story of people successfully "resurrecting" long lost cultivars from old seeds - often much older than yours!

good luck!

o

You could try the "paper towel" germinaton method to see if a few will grow?

o

The seeds found in ancient tombs have been germinated. Totally possible. You may want to soak some of the seeds first for a day, then plant them. Keep the soil warm and watered. Good luck!

This post was edited by alouyakis on Fri, Aug 2, 13 at 15:56

o

When I was in the 5th grade my science fair project was about this very topic, "can you grow old seeds, the germination race"?

My teacher had bean seeds that were over 20 years old that were kept in their bags, in a stable conditioned environment.