Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
patty527

Banana Melon-cross pollinate with cucumber?

patty527
17 years ago

Hi. This is my first year with attempts at heirloom varieties. Everything has done nicely except for the banana melon that I planted and I am wondering if it could cross pollinate with a cucumber. We harvested one today and it looks like a banana melon in shape and color. When cut it did not have the salmon coloring inside, it was whiteish. It had the flavor of a cucumber. I hadn't even considered it could cross pollinate with a cucumber until now. It was planted in April so I think it has had time to mature. I have only seen the melons on the internet so I have no idea really what I'm looking at. Any help would be greatly apprecated.

Thanks,

Patty

Comments (13)

• gardenlad
    17 years ago

In two words: im possible.

They belong to different species. The melons are Cucumis melo while the cukes are Cucumis sativus.

Despite a common myth to the contrary, melons and true cukes cannot cross with each other.

I suspect your banana melon just hasn't ripened yet.

• patty527
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Wheew! I will just let the others stay on the vines for a while longer. I see right now I have a lot to learn. Thank you for your helpful knowledge.

• Macmex
    17 years ago

I'm not a melon expert. But I bet you'll be able to tell when this melon is ripe by sniffing it. It'll have a great aroma!

• latomatozone8
    17 years ago

I don't know anything about what family cantaloupes and cucumbers are from but my sister had hers planted very close together and her cukes were light orange skin and cantaloupe orange inside but shaped like a cucumber,smelled like a cucumber and tasted like a cucumber.I saw in the newspaper that this also happened in Houma, La. a couple of weeks ago. Not unbelievable to me since I had already seen it myself.

• Macmex
    17 years ago