Return to the Heirloom Plants & Gardens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
HELP - Some pest is eating my mature green heirlooms!

Posted by littlemary1234 So cal (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 9, 13 at 20:01

I am a beginner gardener on a budget. Everyday Lately i am finding fruit being eaten right off the tomato plant. I didn't know this was happening until Ifound partly eaten tomatoes on the ground away from the plants. One day I found my Thai basil eaten to twigs. I thought it was the bunnies from the neighbors yard, so I put up a steel fence. I thought it was birds til I found them almost all the way eaten. Now I suspect rats. It would be a mere feat to enclose this whole garden bed... I started dusting everything with cayenne pepper, but whatever it is, keeps testing the fruit. So while the pepper is deterring the pest, it's not keeping them from trying to eat them. They bite out chunks and spit it out right there... But move onto the next fruit. They are not learning. I have now started to ziploc Baggie the fruits. I have some questions regarding my organic methods.
1. Will the dusting of cayenne hurt the bees?
2. Will the fruit get larger while in the Baggie, or only ripen? (Ventilated)

I'm not sure how to post more than one pic and so sorry for the horrible thing and grammar. I'm typing this on an iPhone and it sucks because I can't see everything. Immediate responses will be super appreciated, as I'm riding on precious time.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: HELP - Some pest is eating my mature green heirlooms!

Lost another, this time a purple Cherokee. Ate thru a ziploc bag to get to it. Very persistent pest.

o

Rats? Maybe a small fence would keep them out? I don't know if they would climb a fence or not. Geez. I guess you need an outdoor cat!

o

more distruction :(

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!