Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
docmom_mn_zone_5

Can I Still save seeds from unripe melons?

docmom_gw
19 years ago

This is my first year growing melons. I have Schoon's Hard Shell, Honey Rock and Blacktail Mountain watermelons. I had great results with healthy plants and plenty of great-looking melons. Unfortunately, we had a very cool, rainy summer, and now the plants have developed some fungus that has devestated the leaves. There was an article in the paper that said this is a wide-spread problem and that once the fungus takes hold, the fruits and vegetables stop ripening. So, I have 80-90% ripe melons. They're no good to eat, but can I still save the seeds from at least the watermelons? When I cut one open, the seeds are begining to darken, some about 50-75%. Will these germinate? I'm a member of the Seed Savers Exchange and I don't want to send poor quality seeds to anyone who might request them. But if they're good seeds, I'd hate to waste them and all of my work.

Let me know what you think. Thanks

Martha

Comments (5)

• carolyn137
    19 years ago

Martha,

You/ve posted this same questions elsewhere and I've already answered you once, but I'll be darned if I remember where it was that I answsered it. LOL

My major question, before answering your questions, was to ask you if you hand pollinated the blossoms.

If you didn't the seeds will not be true since melons are insect pollinated.

The only reason I ask is b/c you didn't mention it, and if you did do the hand pollinations, please excuse me for bringing it up.

Carolyn

• docmom_gw
    Original Author
    19 years ago