Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vseward_gw

Snail Vines

vseward
21 years ago

I planted a small snail vine in the spring. It was a little slow getting started but once established, it has taken off. The beautiful vine is growing up a lattice and I am training it to offer some much needed privacy. My question is DOES THIS PLANT BECOME DORMANT in winter. I keep seeing postings about overwintering. I am new to the vine gardens and would like to see this plant thrive. If you know the best way to take care of this plant or if there is anything special I should do\consider during the colder months. I live in central California so it really doesnt get THAT cold! Also, is this in the BEAN family?

Comments (10)

• carolyn137
    21 years ago

vse,

Check out this link for info on snail vine:

http://www.desert-tropicals.com/Plants/Fabaceae/Vigna_caracalla.html

Fabaceae is the family that includes beans.

There are many genera in that family and for each genus there are usually many species.

Common beans are in the genus Phaseolus.

Vigna is also in that family and there are several species of Vigna. Here's a link that shows you what in the bean family. I don't see snail vine listed but other Vigna's are:

http://www.csdl.tamu.edu/FLORA/imaxxfab.htm

But different genera within the same family are not very closely related, oft times. For instance tomatoes, peppers, petunias, Chinese Lanterns, Datura's, tomatillos, ground cherries, nicotiana and potatoes are all in the Solanaceae family but each are in different genera.

Carolyn

• meg_va
    21 years ago

I visited Monticello yesterday and saw this beautiful vine in bloom. Gorgeous does not describe it!! Monticello's plant shop had it on sale and I couldn't resist coming home with one. The woman in the plant shop shared that the plants that I saw growing in Jefferson's garden were actually potted and overwintered each year.