Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
catfishred2006

hi newbie here and a ? on seed comp

catfishred2006
19 years ago

Hi, I'm 15 and been looking threw garden web found this great forum. I have been in gardening for a few years, studying to go in to Ag. Anyways I been studying how to collect and grow heirlooms. Sadly all but one pack of my Grandfathers seeds are still around and they are 15 years old. Doing some studying on getting chances up on getting some seeds to germinate so I can collect seeds. They are 10-15 years old. So sadly almost all heirlooms of my grandfathers and the families are lost. I'm contacting family members to see if they happen to have any seeds.

Nobody so far has any, so I'm planning to order some seeds. Does any body recommend a site? It will not be as rewarding as growing the families, but you got to start some ware.

Matt

Comments (16)

• carolyn137
    19 years ago

catfish,

Some older seeds can be germinated using a few tricks. What specific kinds of seeds are you talking about?

Also, with respect to heirloom varieties and seed companies, again, what kinds of seeds are you talking about? Vegetable seeds? Flower seeds?

And if vegetable heirlooms what kinds of veggies? I ask only b/c some places specalize in certain kinds of veggies while other places have more general offerings.

Carolyn

• catfishred2006
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Hi, sorry I was not more specific, I wrote this last night after my sick 4 year old niece woke me up, right before I went back to bed. IÂm looking for veggies and for the most part general seeds. The seeds that I been trying to get to germinate at acorn squash. One comp that I been thinking about ordering from is victory seeds, any body ordered from them?

Thanks for the help, again sorry for the lack of info
    Matt

• Raymondo
    19 years ago

And your choice of Victory is a good one. Although I've not ordered from them personally, I hear they're good.