Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phyllisbo

Heirloom Seeds?

Phyllisbo
18 years ago

I'm relatively new to the GardenWeb forums. I oversee a horticulture therapy program for a non-profit agency. We would like to start an heirloom garden (flowers and vegetables). Of course, we cannot afford to spend a whole lot of money. What companies offer heirloom seeds at reasonable prices?

Thanks for any information!

Comments (15)

• opabinia51
    18 years ago

Try the Garden Path located in Victoria British Columbia. The propreitor has a website that you can find. Her name is Caroline Herriot. Try typing in Garden Path And Caroline Heriot in google.

• suze9
    18 years ago

What companies offer heirloom seeds at reasonable prices?

Sandhill Preservation is a great one for vegetable seeds.

Pinetree for ornamentals and some veg.

• shapiro
    18 years ago

I also recommend Terra Edibles, Box 164, 535 Ashley Street, Foxboro, Ontario, Canada. The postal code:
    K0K 2B0. Don't be misled by the name "Edibles" - this nursery also carries lots of heirloom flowers, for example, sweet peas such as Painted Lady, introduced in 1737 and Cupani's Original, going back to 1699: has deep blue standards and purple wings. These are all highly scented.

• carolyn137
    18 years ago

And sources in Canada are being given to someone in the US in Virginia because?

Not only are there some possible customs problems, but price differentials as well. Since 1990 I've been sending seeds to Canadian SSE members and vice versa so have had some experience in that regard and do know the two Canadian sources mentioned above, as well.