Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dawn_bc

Newbie here would like to try!

Dawn_BC
21 years ago

I have been doing a little research on growing Hellebore from seed.

I am wondering what would be the easiest Hellebore to try for a first timer?

Do all hellebore seeds need the cold/warm treatment?

What is your opinion on buying seeds from a seed catalogue like T & M or Park Seed?

Would they still have good germination?

Comments (4)

• jgwoodard
    21 years ago

Dawn,
    Expect your seeds to need the warm/cold/warm cycle unless you find stratified seeds. In general, the fresher the seed, the better your results. Many of us using this forum have recently received seeds via mail from the southern hemisphere (Elizabeth Town Hellebores in Tasmania), and this can speed up the process as they come ready for cold stratification. H. x hybridus is simple and virtually foolproof and H. foetidus seedlings tend to really grow rapidly here, although any hellebore seeds you acquire are well worth the time. Good luck. I'm sure you will get more great advice from the others.
    Joseph

• Dawn_BC
    Original Author
    21 years ago

So if I order from Elizabeth Town's then I only need to do a cold treatment & then a warm treatment?

For the cold treatment....do you just keep them in the freezer? For how long?

What's involved with the warm treatment? Is this the process where you are trying to get them to sprout?

Thanx for your advice!

• bruceNH
    21 years ago

Hi Dawn,
    Below is a post from December 30 that I posted in the Perennial Forum. If you look into the tasmanian seed threads you will find further information and there is an old thread on growing from seed, I will try to locate it and drag it to the top.