Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kerstin_linnea

hellebore growing a new crown?

Kerstin_Linnea
19 years ago

HI!

I have been peeking at my helleborus royal heritage for a good two months now, the plant came my way on fallsales and looked great, quart pot with four large branches of healthy growth.

I left the leaves on over winter utill they started looking ratty, The heart of the the plant, above the soil , was all browned and dried up, not rotted just deadlooking.

Today I look again and it has a other 'center' shooting up next to the old one.

I have never seen this before, sure widening clumps but not like this..?

Can anyone explain this for me? the plant is two years old,How come I have not even seen any growth on it yet??

I do not know how to post pic's here but if you want to see one, mail me, I DO know how to e-mail them, barely .. :-)

klk

Comments (6)

• Greenmanplants
    19 years ago

Doesn't sound like a real problem.
    You should plant with the crown about 1" below the surface. I suspect what's happened here is that the plant has decided to regrow below the old crown because it was too exposed and although the roots wer still Ok the crown had lost the ability to produce new growth. At worst you've set it back a bit. If it had been planted a little deeper, you would possibly have both crowns growing now, not just the new one, however, the reality is that if the roots are undamaged, they will push out more or less that same amount of top growth as they would have otherwise.

Cheers Greenmanplants

• Kerstin_Linnea
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Hi green man!
    I have paid closer attention to the crown and it seems to do fine.
    However, the same cultivar right next to it, purchased at the same time looking very simmilar, albeit a little bit smaller, and planted on the same level, rotted!
    The pointy tip came right out and looked like a frost nipped artichoke...