Return to the Hellebore Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
winter cheer

Posted by mrguppy3 none (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 12, 13 at 16:59

hi guys posted a pic of one of my hellebores hope you like.

This post was edited by mrguppy3 on Tue, Mar 12, 13 at 17:45

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: winter cheer

and another, cant seem to work out how to post more than one? mainly because i am computor illiterate i suppose.

o

Those are beautiful. Just curious: did you grow them from seed?

Mine are budded but only just opening in this colder-than-normal spring.

Thanks for the lovely pictures.

Amanda

o

Hi amanda
I am an amanda too.
Yes i hand pollinate and pick the best for the garden i have been growing hellebores for 14 years, some times i get some real gems amongst the also rans of which i move on to the church stall or sell at car boot sales.we have this awful sudden cold spell at the moment and all of them have flopped over apart from the ones i am pollinating in the green house.

o

Thanks for sharing! Is the top one "freckled"? Or what do you call the pattern?

o

Hi claysoil.yes i suppose it is freckled its an anemone centered one that appeared amongst a batch of doubles.

o

Those are awesome. Thanks for sharing.

o

The first one is stunning!!

o

thank you all for the nice comments.
had a bad double chill this year which knocked most of them back so some of the stems of the taller ones are all bent and mishapen due to a freezing week then a real mild spell which then went back to freezing .

o

Mrguppy3 -- Your photos are beautiful. Can you tell me the name of your Hellebores? Just stunning!

o

hi spicedmonday. thank you, glad you like them.addictive arnt they.
i dont really have names for them as they are just ones that i have bred.
though the bottom picture i have nicknamed rasberryripple just for me as it is one that i am line breeding to get the stripes as strong as possible.

o