Return to the Hellebore Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
fresh hellebore seeds - are they viable?

Posted by chasmanthe 9/10 California (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 7, 04 at 3:14

I was cruising a a nursery today for early spring herbs (I'm a landscaper in Southern California) and tripped over a large green hellebore with splashes on the leaves. Didn't notice the splashes; noticed the seed pods, which were cracking open and starting to spill seeds.

I pinched off the open ones to save them, then bought the plant. (Only a true seed maniac would understand either act.)

Have harvested fresh H. sseds before around now. Always traded them away, as I'm too busy to coddle seeds. Since these are REALLY fresh, I want to sow some. Came to this forum for guidance.

Never noticed the little white line (like Dolichos lablab) before. It's tee shirt weather here, and I did not squeeze the seeds out. Are they "fresh" or premature? I'll look further for proper handling instructions.

I presume that the markings on the leaves will not come through in the seedlings. Flowers are pure Hellebore green.

Any guidance from you experts besides keep them moist? Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: fresh hellebore seeds - are they viable?

Read the "What's YOUR method of growing Hellebores from seed", chain on this forum. Get them planted without delay, they should be perfectly viable now. I do feel that when they are harvested early, it's important to get them planted without delay, as they dry out rather quickly and get slightly (prune like) shrivelled.

Cheers Greenmanplants

o

Hi Chasmanthe,
I just got back from visiting a friend who started with two hellebores. Both seem to self-seed nicely and she has the beginnings of a colony. But get them in the ground as fresh as possible.

Haven't forgotten about the asclepias. Hope you haven't forgotten the epis! :-)

Sheila

o