Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
starinasgarden

Help with hellebores

starinasgarden
13 years ago

Hi,

It's my first time on this forum, I'm looking for advice on 3 hellebores I bought at a florist. I put them under lights indoors, thinking they had been forced in a greenhouse. They began to wilt after a couple of days, and being afraid of crown rot, I tried to bottom water. The first one didn't seem to be absorbing water very quickly, so I tipped it out and was shocked at how pot bound it was. I soaked the root ball, and repotted in a very sharp draining mix. Bottom watered and put them by the window in my cool mudroom.

They look much better today, but I am wondering of there is anything else I should do for them. I intend to harden them off, and plant them out as soon as feasible.

Thanks on advance for your help!

Comments (9)

• leslie6ri
    13 years ago

Hi starinasgarden,

It seems to me that you've done just about everything you could. (Though I'll defer to anyone else with an opinion.) All I can think of is to get them outside as soon as you can --which you intend to do anyway. I've never grown a hellebore inside for even a short period of time, but the hellebores in my zone 6 garden are happy and starting to bloom. I think yours will adapt nicely.

Does anyone else know if a freezing night or two would damage starinasgarden's new hellebores? Just in case...

Leslie

• susie_60nc
    13 years ago

I grow Hellebores they are my favorite plant.I have thousands.I will agree you have done as much as you can,other than putting them out side.Hellebore love cold weather.If there is going to be a hard freeze I would give them a little protection.I think they will be fine.....good luck

• starinasgarden
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thank you for the reassurance, Leslie and Susie. They look exponentially better today. They are now outdoors in the shade. I don't want to fry them, they've been through enough.