Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nightsunshine

Helleborus niger seeds.

nightsunshine
19 years ago

I'm new at flower gardening in general. I purchased niger seeds online from a place in Calif. After reading information here, I'm afraid to start the seeds. Should I wait until July or can I start them now? The directions with the seeds are similar to what I have found on the web, except it says only 2 weeks at 70 degrees and 4 weeks in the frig, then plant in a shady location covered until germination. Says erratic germination over a period of 5-18 months. I'm assuming the 5-18 months covers the warm cold period again if the first treatment fails. I'm guessing I would have been better off buying plants, not seeds. Any help would be appricated.

I'm starting a large woodland garden, it is south facing under very tall trees, the garden will be about 30 feet deep into the woods and about 100 feet long. I have a variety of Hosta already and have started a few things from seed; Foxglove, Baby-blue-eyes, Cleome, Columbine, Campanula and a few hardy Cyclmen. Suggestions would be appreciated. Budget will not allow me to fill the entire area in a season. Starting with seeds helps. The area was just cleared of brush and small trees. I don't want to wait too long, it fills back in on it's own pretty fast.

Comments (6)

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    19 years ago

Your woodland garden sounds like a great project, one I'd like to do myself....

I haven't sown helleborus seeds that have been stored or allowed to dry, but I have had good results with seed given a warm moist period of at least 40 days, followed by 6 - 8 weeks of moist chill...with germination taking place in the weeks after the chill. A very few seeds surprised me by germinating a full year after the others sown in their group.