Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
woodside_gw

dead bareroots

woodside
14 years ago

I planted 10 blue and red lady hellebores orientalis this spring (?May) and I think they have all turned to dust!

I am a newbie to gardening, so I spent a lot of money with a less than reputable online site (Heronswood is not the best for hellebores according to davesgarden watchdog). Anyway, today I saw one bare root with green top growth and green stem- I assume it's doing well. Out of curiousity, I dug up the areas around my other 9 hellebore markers and I got nothing but dust! The area is in my driveway, with 4 trees, 3 unknown, but 1 mature black walnut. Lots of roots and dry sandy soil. Also, some underground rhizome (?fern?eunonymous) penetrates the soil. I watered occasionally, but just assumed the bare roots were dormant and shouldn't require a lot of fuss.

Is all lost? Should I transplant the one apparent success to a container? I tend to do better with planting live flowering specimens in my garden, and bare roots intimidated me. I'm zone 5a. Help!

Comments (5)

• woodside
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Also, where can I buy hellebores plants online as opposed to bare roots?

• ladywindsurfer
    14 years ago

Are you sure they came from Heronswood?
    I have purchased many Helleborus from them and all were healthy plants in pots.
    Once had a problem, when the carrier crushed the carton and damaged some of the plants. They replaced them immediately without question.
    My one experience with bareroot Helleborus many years ago, was same as yours. Roots were so dried that none produced new growth. Replacements produced the same result.

• woodside
    Original Author
    14 years ago

No, I stand corrected. I ordered from the dreaded wayside gardens, it appears. Woe is me. So are bareroot hellebores just not the way to go period?

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    14 years ago