Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cchappy_100

how are the seeds of Hellebore dispersed naturally?

cchappy_100
20 years ago

I m a biology student, who can tell me how are the seeds of hellebore dispersed naturally and why???? thank u very much!!

Comments (7)

• carol23_gw
    20 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

The pods ripen and the seeds fall out. Most seedlings appear around the parent plant.

• jgwoodard
    20 years ago

There is no elaiosome on hellebore seed, so I am not sure how or if the seed carry any sort of strong attraction. I have read numerous reports that mice are fond of seed, though I have no personal experience to verify this.

As Carol noted, the vast majority of seedlings germinate beneath the parent plant. I have had several anomolous cases of seedlings germinating 30 or 40 feet away from the parent plant...uphill. This has always been a curiosity for me. I have several scattered H. foetidus plants that germinated 10 or more feet above the parents in terms of elevation, so runoff did not disperse them.

• johandk
    20 years ago

Hello all ,

The seeds of Helleborus are ( in general ) black with a white appendix or attachment .
    The appendix of the seed of H. argutifolius and foetidus is very big .
    Over here it is called " ants' bread " ( translation ) and it is told that the ants take the seed away not for the seed but for the bread .
    I could observe seedlings of H. hybridus at 1 meter and H. argutifolius at more than 5 meter from the mother-plant .
    It is always possible that when the seedpods open then the seeds are thrown away , but if not , then I think my ants have some meter more pleasure to eat the bigger bread or perhaps they have studied economics .

johan

Here is a link that might be useful: fynwerk

• jgwoodard
    20 years ago

Interesting. I have never noticed this appendix really. Does it stay with the seed or is it attached to the carpels? Maybe I am blind or not paying attention.