Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kerstin_linnea

zone 5 tubgardening..

Kerstin_Linnea
19 years ago

hello, the first freeze came a couple of days ago, I am hoovering over my new helleborus, looking for any sign of activity, One has a small shiny leaf coming up, I got them cheaply from parks , they are orientalis royal heritage and came in qrt pots.

I am brand new to the plant and have spent many hours pouring over this forum.

Most questions I have I found answers to some degree, but I would like to hear from somebody In z5 area,

I am also wondering if there's a general way of estimating age ?

Almost no mailorder cites age of plants and I really want 3-4 specimen that will reward me with flowers soon.

Ultimately I want to fill a bed about 25x5 , running along a brick wall and a path.

It has some direct afternoon sun in the spring , before the tree fills up.

My plan is to buy 10-12 younger plants and break them up with a couple of mature blooming plants, - I read about the tendency for suprises and it is ok with me, I am kind of curious but also want to make sure I get my favourites..

I am not anywere near knowing the varietys by heart and wanted to explain to anyone here on the post and maybe get to find out what it is I should look out for..

I want them to be evergreen as much as that is possible ( yes I am aware that none is truly evergreen , but the one that is up an running the longest, :-)

I loove the beige , pink, auburn white green brownish colors of these plant, I want to make sure I get at least a couple

of doubles and spotted, the ones called picotee's are gorgeus too.

are the any particular colorschemes to follow for ultimate effect? All of I can think of myself is to not focus too much on the darker variety's , I love them but I don't think they're going to stand out much against the brick and dark wood surroundings.

Also my usual vantage point is one story above the grounds.