Return to the Herbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
WANTED: herbs of all kinds wanted (free?)

Posted by herbdreams 5 (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 23, 09 at 18:56

hi!!
im trying to turn my run-down mostly elderly neighborhood into a more beautiful place for all. i would love to have a huge array of seed to plant, and herbs are just the thing.

basils
lavenders
dill
fennel
bergamots
mints
chives
hyssop
marjoram
sages
thymes and creeping or woolly thymes

i am new to gardening and willing to put in long hours of work. something has to be done about this block!! your help graciously accepted!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: WANTED: herbs of all kinds wanted (free?)

I don't have anything to share yet but I'm curious about what you're doing. Do you have a little park you're dressing up or are you just planting in front of your own building or are you planting for the elderly in your neighborhood as well?

I live in a poorer section of town and have thought about planting herbs in the two 5x5 patches of grass(well dirt since the children tend to tread any grass down to nothing) in front of my apartment house to "dress it up" a little.

I'm sure my landlord would let me (without a doubt) but I'm worried about the kids in the neighborhood not respecting the garden and running through it as they do now. A few years ago the landlord's mother put a little white plastic fence (8-10 inches tall) up around the edges of one side and tried to grow grass in it but the kids had the fence destroyed within days and the grass never really grew.

I'm also trying to start an indoor porch garden on my back porch (2nd floor, enclosed not a balcony) and am looking for herbs and tomatoes to grow there. I figured if I had surpluses or was sent some flowers as bonuses I'd plant them out front... (as well as share with others who could use them on this site) but the children pose a problem.

Any ideas or suggestions?

o
RE: WANTED: herbs of all kinds wanted (free?)