Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ktp101

I'm starting to grow a small herb garden. I need help and advice

ktp101
9 years ago

I live in the Philippines in the southern part of it. zone 11 here all year round.

I have little knowledge on how to take care of herbs and been doing it for almost a month now. It brought me this far but I'm afraid I can't go any further with just managing to get by. I need help.

currently I have Rosemary, Thyme, Basil (I don't know specifically but I think its a sweet basil), Tarragon (I don't know if French or Russian) and Peppermint

I think most of them are in good health for now and are place where there is a direct exposure of sunlight everyday

The Thyme I have now is place in a 4" pot but when I transfer the plant in the pot I found red ants living in it. Should I be worried about It? (I think I killed the queen ant).

The Basil is already transferred in a 4" pot and doing great. should I water it everyday or see if it needs watering? when do I need to cut the stem to propagate it? (if you need a photo of it pls ask to advice me better)

My Rosemary and Tarragon is still in its original container (the black plastic container that you see when buying a new plant). should I transfer it to a new container to 2"-4" pot?

The Peppermint is doing well and now growing more stems and leaves. when can I propagate it? also it is place in 2 inch pot

quick questions:

Should I plant the herbs in the ground or just put the herbs in pots?

I read that I should check the roots if its white sometimes to times. Should I look at the roots or not?

when transferring the plants to the pot. Should I put medium size rocks on the bottom of the pot or not? they says that it prevent for the roots to rot at the bottom (or was it the soil?).

Comments (10)

• ktp101
    Original Author
    9 years ago

this my basil... is there something wrong?? I don't know if it is really okay or not

• fatamorgana2121
    9 years ago