Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redanteater

Are my catnip plants doing okay?

redanteater
12 years ago

There were planted in October, from a pet store grow your own catnip plant kit. This is my first time trying to grow anything, and I managed to kill many of the seedlings. They were just replanted to the bigger pot this week. I think they may be stunted or something

http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t157/redanteater/DSC00426-1.jpg

Comments (10)

• noinwi
    12 years ago

Where are you located? Are they outside? They look like they need more light. If inside and you can't provide more light, they most likely will not make it. If you don't have freezing temps in winter and they are outside, place them where they get the most sun and add a little loose potting mix to the container so they are just poking above it. Add a piece of chicken wire over the top(to prevent cats from eating it)and they just might make it to spring. If you started them inside and want to put them outside, you have to harden them off by getting them used to the outside little by little. A little more info would help us help you.

• redanteater
    Original Author
    12 years ago

They are inside with a plant bulb directly over them. I'm in zone 5b if that helps

• redanteater
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Okay, I looked up my bulb and it sucks. Its a GE plant incandescent from walmart or somewhere similar(can't remember). It outputs 620 lumens and from what I understand, that is far too low. I'm going out to the hardware store and look at compact fluorescents or tube fluorescents.

Are tube fluorescents or compact ones better? I know HID are best, but totally out of my price range.