Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
springangel_gw

Can you send herb plants in the mail?

SpringAngel
12 years ago

Good afternoon,

I am a relative gardening newbie. I started with store bought plants a few years ago and they did so well that last year I started some veggies and herbs from seed using just window light. I had moderate success.

For Christmas I asked for some grow lights and heat pad so I have a small set up now and I am eager to get started. I know its still too early to start my flowers (going to try those from seed this year), veggies and outdoor herbs. BUT I had an idea for doing some indoor herbs and potting them into pretty pots and sending them to my mother who lives in the next state. However, I was wondering if this is even possible. I know professional growers do it and FTD, etc. But how does a normal person go about it? I looked around online and saw about putting them in baggies but I want them to be in pots since they will be a present.

Any ideas? Thank you in advance!

Comments (10)

• pvel
    12 years ago

I have sent potted small plants by mail successfully. I used plastic 4 inch pots. First I wrap the pot in Saran wrap to keep the soil from falling out(with the plant). Then I place the pot in a US postal service priority mail box. I perfected a technique by trial and error of using cardboard strips as 'seat belts' to keep the pot from moving. You are doing it right when you can invert the box and the pot will not drop out. This is because the Post Office cannot be relied on to keep the box upright. I sent dozens of plants this way and maybe 5-10% of the shipments did not reach in good condition. Hope this helps.

• fatamorgana2121
    12 years ago

Moist soil is heavy and if you are sending anything more than tiny pots the mailing cost might be quite costly. There might also be regulations about shipping something alive/in soil so check into that.