Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jaltman_gw

Cilantro Question

jaltman
15 years ago

I started cilantro seeds indoors about 2 weeks ago in a Burpee 72 cell seed starting tray. They are now around 6 inches tall and look nothing like what the pictures show. They are nothing but tall stalks with two little leaves on the tops. Has something gone wrong or is this how they should look at this time? Also, when should I transplant them? All feedback would be appreciated. I am new to this. Thanks

Comments (18)

• leira
    15 years ago

The two leaves are likely the cotyledons, not the "true leaves." If your seedlings are that tall already and don't have true leaves yet, I would guess that they don't have nearly enough light.

Did you start your seeds under shoplights, or at least in a south-facing window with strong sunlight? If not, get them under some light, quick!

• jaltman
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Yes. I have had them under light since I planted them. Just a 24" Flourescent with a plant and aquarium bulb. Have it about 12" above. I have started another Burpee tray with cilantro in it. It is just beginning to sprout. Same light situation except I only have it about 5" above.

• leira
    15 years ago

12" is much higher than it ought to be. I'd recommend something more like 2" above the tops of the plants.

Also, when you say you have a 24" fluorescent, do you mean a single bulb, or a 2-bulb fixture? I think that one bulb isn't enough for a full (11"x22") seed-starting tray. I've traditionally used the dual-bulb fixtures for one of these trays, but this year I'm actually considering doubling this light, because even with what I've been using, my seedlings sometimes get a little leggy.

• ksrogers
    15 years ago