Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msfuzz

Newbie Herb Gardener

msfuzz
14 years ago

I'm pretty much a complete newbie when it comes to herb gardens. I had a very small container garden last year, and I'm looking to expand this year. I'm hoping for a bit of feedback, if you all would be so kind. Due to my living situation, I must grow in containers.

I will be planting my herbs in 2, 45" wide x 8" deep plastic kiddie wading pools (with good drainage via drilled holes & a wick, and filled with potting mix). I am growing both herbs from seed, and transplants. Thankfully, they break down fairly evenly, so I can do seed herbs in one pool, and transplant herbs in the other.

Seed herbs (8):

Basil-Genovese, Siam Queen, Red Rubin

Chamomile-German

Chervil-Vertissimo

Cilantro-Calypso

Marjoram

Cumin

Transplant herbs (7):

Oregano-Greek

Rosemary-Arp

Sage-Pineapple, Tricolor

French Tarragon

Thyme-Lemon, Bushy

My question is: Does this seem like a viable set of herbs to grow with one another in a relatively small space? Do any of these herbs definately not grow well with each other? Are these herbs fairly compatible as far as needs of sunlight, watering, fertilizng, etc?

I am not planning on overwintering this garden, so longevity past one growing season is not a particular concern of mine.

Thank you all very much for your time & input.

Comments (14)

• Daisyduckworth
    14 years ago

The pool is far too shallow for most of these plants, and the space in each pool will just about accommodate the Pineapple Sage or one of the basils. Do I really need to say more at this point?

• patsycollins
    14 years ago

Is that pool really 245 inches across? If so and you can keep it correctly watered then most of your plants should be OK for one season (you'll need to put in pathways for access though.) Most of them would be better off in seperate traditional, deeper, containers though.

• Daisyduckworth
    14 years ago